Back To Book Section

Forgotten Conservatives in American History
Brion McClanahan and Clyde N. Wilson

“Americans weary of what passes for ‘conservatism’ in the circus of modern party politics owe McClanahan and Wilson profound thanks for recovering these voices of a lost tradition. Our bloated, debt-ridden, crusading empire has never needed these courageous defenders of the old republic more than it does at present. This is a sober reminder of how far we have departed from first principles and points to the quality of character needed for recovery of authentic conservatism.”
—Richard M. Gamble, author of In Search of the City on a Hill:
The Making and Unmaking of an American Myth
“The charlatans who have taken over official conservatism have had to suppress a lot of history in order to portray themselves as genuine conservatives. The authors of Forgotten Conservatives in American History aren’t letting them get away with it. Every page of this book is a nail in the neoconservative coffin.”
—Thomas E. Woods, Jr., New York Times bestselling author of
Meltdown and The Politically Incorrect Guide to American History

A series of biographical vignettes on forgotten American conservatives provides clear insight into what truly constitutes American conservatism. From M. E. Bradford, John C. Calhoun, and Grover Cleveland to Sam Ervin, William Faulkner, and James Jackson, the authors argue that American conservatism is based on eight core values: decentralization, sound money, light taxes, states’ rights, low debt, family, community, and independence, both at home and abroad. To those looking for context among the various competing visions and directions of modern American conservatism, this book serves a guidepost.

About the Authors
Brion McClanahan holds a PhD in American history from the University of South Carolina. He has lectured across the southeast on the founding tradition of the United States and has appeared on dozens of local and syndicated radio programs.

Clyde N. Wilson is a professor emeritus of history at the University of South Carolina. He is a recipient of the Bostick Prize for Contributions to South Carolina Letters and of the first annual Randolph Society Lifetime Achievement Award. He is also the M. E. Bradford Distinguished Professor of the Abbeville Institute.

200 pages. HB. $26.95 + Shipping